Second Reading Of Budget Passed With Resounding Majority Of 43 Votes: 119 MPs Vote In Favour While 76 Vote Against: Sirisena Group Absent

The second reading vote on the budget 2019 was passed in Parliament a short while go with 119 MPs voting in favour. 

All United National Front and Tamil National Alliance (TNA) MPs voted in favour of the budget while the SLFP MPs supporting President Maithripala Sirisena made an eleventh-hour decision to abstain from voting. 

The SLFP group previously decided to vote against the budget, but their opposition would not have changed the outcome of the vote. 

The Joint Opposition and the JVP voted against the budget but the two parties only managed to secure 76 votes. 

Hence, the second reading vote on the budget was passed with a resounding majority of 43 votes. 

© 2017 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd