Petitions Against President's Move To Dissolve Parliament: Supreme Court Hearing Begins Before Seven Member Bench

December 04, 2018

Hearing of petitions against the dissolution of Parliament has begun before a seven-judge bench presided over by Chief Justice Nalin Perera in the courtroom 502. 

Justices Prasanna Jayawardena, Priyantha Jayawardena, Buwaneka Aluwihare, Sirisa de Abrew, Vijith Malalgoda and Murdu Fernando will hear the petitions. 

Thirteen petitions and five intervening petitions have been filed for and against the President Maithripala Sirisena's decision to dissolve Parliament. 

Supreme Court, last month, issued an interim order against the gazette issued by President Sirisena on dissolving Parliament. 


© 2017 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd