UNP Backbenchers Also Plan Impeachment Motion Against President Sirisena If He Keeps Dissident SLFPers In Government

UNP backbenchers threatened that they would move an impeachment motion against President Maithripala Sirisena if he tried to keep the SLFPers who voted against the Prime Minister during the no-confidence vote, in the Cabinet. 

SLFP Minister Dayasiri Jayasekera yesterday said that they tendered their resignations to the President and the latter refused to accept them. 

Jayasekera also added that they would remain in the government  until President Sirisena asks them to leave. 

The UNP has already decided to hand over a no-confidence motion against all Sri Lanka Freedom Party ministers and deputy ministers who voted against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe to Speaker Karu Jayasuriya. 

UNP MP Mujiber Rahuman, speaking to media said, those who voted for the no-confidence motion while remaining in the government will be forced to quit their positions. 

During the vote on the no-confidence  motion against the Prime Minister, 15 SLFP MPs holding positions in the government voted in support of it. Six of them are Cabinet ministers. 

A UNP backbencher said they would not be hesitant to move an impeachment motion against the President if the latter tried to keep them in the government, in an unethical manner. 

He also added that the motion would be drafted in a manner that would draw the support of the Joint Opposition.

© 2017 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd